Some say that because many people are living much longer the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably To what extent do you agree or disagree

Retirement age is the new controversial topic that has been discussed widely. The improvement in the medical and social scenario made people to live longer years than they are used to be, this has raised new questions about peoples retairement age. Some people say that people nowadays have long life expectancy, so the individuals pull back time from work should be raised accordingly. I agree to this statement to a certain extent.

On one hand, increasing retirement age have some wide implications on the country's economy. Currently, many of the countries are facing the problem of unemployment, many graduates roaming around the streets without any proper job. Increasing the retirement limit, would probably worsen this scenario. Furthermore, it will also cost government extra money especially in the case of government employees. If state employees work for longer time, the central needs to find more money for their relieving benefits, since it is calculated on the basis of years of experience. Moreover, older work force some times creates problem for the companies for adapting new changes.

On the flip side of the coin, this option can be considered in the case of some specific jobs only. Jobs like designing and art works require years of experience to do the work perfectly. For such kind of work the age limit can be increased, because it would take some time and effort for a new person to learn this skill. On top that, there are some countries who's population has more number of old age people than youth, they can also consider this idea.

In conclusion, raising the retirement age in all sectors will do more harm than good. It can be possible in some sectors and special cases only.