Science will soon make people live up to 100 or even 200 years. Some believe this is a good thing while others disagree. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Scientific breakthroughs have largely influenced human health and fitness factory. More and more people are conscious of their health and preventive measures have resulted in longer life span. Last century has seen a dramatic rise in average age of human being that goes as high as 98 years in some countries. Increase in lifespan has its associated advantages and disadvantages; same will be discussed in upcoming paragraphs. In my opinion, living a long life is more of a burden and thus a short yet lived life is better.

It goes without saying that no one wants to die and longer life span clearly is the dream for every human being. First and foremost advantage of living longer life is more time with family and friends. For instance, a grandfather ages 125 can live long enough to get a second change to grow up with grandchildren and develop emotional bond that makes him happier and content. In addition, longer life means adulthood too is increased to 70 or 75 years. Many people who follow fitness protocols are quite active when they turn 60 and thus their experience makes them a valuable asset for world. Many doctor’s and scientist’s had their breakthrough in their 70’s. Cleary, without longer lifespan human evolution would have been slowed down.

On the other hand, longer life is boring and stressful particularly in old age. Naturally, people tend to become weak after a certain age and even though medical choices can be used to continue living, that’s not a happy living. In a study done on people over 80 years, many senior citizens have opine that they feel lonely and boring and life doesn’t interest them much, further medicals do take a toll on their mental health and it is troublesome to live life after 75..

To conclude, although people wish to have a longer life span, it is not a viable and better option. Some cases though bring along certain advantages to longer life, but overall people suffer a lot during their old ages. Increasing life span is not a good idea and science should instead focus on giving better lifestyle.