Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and at school To what extent do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, in this modern world, where all information could be found on television or online channels; there is a fair amount of people encouraging children to watch TV because they think that youngsters can gain much more knowledge through watching television. In my sentiment, I accept this to some extent but I do not encourage children to watch TV both at home and at school. This essay will argue why I have this opinion.

On the one hand, I agree that children can obtain much more information via television channels due to two reasons. Firstly, there is a huge amount of learning resources broadcasting in television channels. For example, when my time was a student, I used to learn English in the BBC channel where contains numerous amazing English lesson that is published every day. Secondly, the content itself on television is fun and colorful and it sometimes is interactive. This brings more attraction to children rather than boring books, so the young will be easier to learn lessons.

Although children can obtain knowledge through watching television, however, I believe adults should not abuse TV as a learning tool at home or at school because of two reasons. The first one is that channels always contain harmful content. For example, crime and sexual information are contents that should not be displayed to children, but it is always showing every hour in channels. In addition, watching TV frequently without any control will affect negatively children development. When youngsters see negative contents, they will tend to follow bad behaviors that will lead them to poor development. Those reasons strongly supported the option that should not encourage children to watch television at home or at school.

In conclusion, this essay argued why we should not encourage children to watch TV regularly although children can obtain knowledge effectively through watching television. Parents should set restrictions and limitations if they allow children watching TV.