Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time.Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Despite the fact that the art has been an imperative part of the human civilization, some believe that introducing art related subjects in academic curriculum is not worthy and academic subjects are more important. However, others believe these subjects are vital due to its contribution towards the development of the mankind throughout the history.

There is a belief that subjects like science, technology, history and mathematics are more important to learn for two main reasons. The first point to make is that in this era of modernization and automation, it is quiet necessary for pupils to be upgraded with the knowledge of the latest technology and research. For instance, if you are not a computer literate, you cannot cope up with the today’s contemporary lifestyle. Secondly, for job prospects, these are far more appealing than other co-curricular ones. For example, any employer would select the candidate having computer and current affairs related knowledge than the one who can create a nice painting. Thus, to keep pace with these advancements, these core subjects are more significant.

Nevertheless, it seems to me that traditional subjects are equally important for overall development of the child. Firstly, from these subjects, they can learn about not only the culture and the civilization but also the preservation of the heritage. For example, if they know how to read the musical notations, they could learn about the historical culture through the songs written by musicians. Secondly, some researchers have proved some artistic skills can become the great aid to cure mental and physical diseases which are proved incurable by medical science. For instance, it has been proved that music therapy is well known for healing some maladies. Thus, arts related subjects are crucial for flourishing individual.

In conclusion, although both views certainly have some validity, I believe that arts related subject should be vital and compulsory in primary schooling and could be made optional at secondary or tertiary education.