Some people think that getting a degree from university is the best way to guarantee a good job; others believe that it would be better to go straight into work and get experience instead. Discuss both sides and give your opinion

It is considered by some that being a university graduate is the key to securing a good job, while there are others who believe that gaining experience by getting direct into work is more appropriate. In my opinion, I believe having university education is essential for certain academic and professional jobs whereas experience and soft skills are important in business areas.

On the one hand, many think that it is easier for most people to find a decent job if they have good university degree. In other words, having tertiary education puts people ahead of others and this can also be a deciding factor in getting a good job. Moreover, there are certain professions, like teaching, medical, research and engineering, for which university degree or master course is necessary. How could a teacher educate the students unless he himself not has a command over the subject? Therefore, getting a degree from university is significant for people’s future work opportunities.

However, there are several jobs that do not need any formal education. Having experience and soft skills, such as, leadership skills and other interpersonal skills, can throw balance in favour of the applicant in getting a job, as the relevant experience and skills are of immediate benefit to the company. Furthermore, job areas like that of painters, drivers, artists and farm workers gain the most by getting straight into work rather than opting for any formal study. Thus, for business and other self-established ventures experience and skills are crucial.

In conclusion, getting a guaranteed job requires an appropriate background either in experience or education depending on the type of work or field area. And it is felt that people should acquire the necessary academic qualifications or skills to be sure of their success.