Agree DisagreeMovies and TV programs have more negative effects than negative effects on the way young children behave

Television is one of the most significant inventions of humans since the dawn of civilization. No one can deny that watching television has its pros and cons and influences people's lives. I firmly believe that the disadvantages of watching movies and TV outweighs its advantages since it negatively affects people's learning and mental health.

First of all, watching TV and movies directly influences the learning ability of people, especially children. Kids spend several hours every day watching films and cartoons, while they should do their homework. Sometimes they stay up all night to watch a program, avoiding going to bed. So, they will be sleepy and tired the next morning at school and do not understand a single teacher's word. Thus, they cannot learn when they did not listen and understand. Consequently, children's learning ability will diminish due to watching TV for several hours. I have to admit that my personal experience has profoundly affected my opinion on this matter. When I was younger at middle school, I often spent my evenings watching movies when my parents were not home. The next days were the most difficult days of my life. I always had problems opening my eyes, and I could not learn anything. That year, I ended up passing my courses with the minimum grades, leading to being deprived of money for that summer.

A second but equally noticeable factor that damages the young's behavior is the mental impacts of TV and movies. Today, films and TV programs often consist of violent or sexual content that is not appropriate for kids. However, they usually watch these programs by neglecting the age alerts, while their parents do not care about their child's attitude. Kids have a sensitive, under-developed mind which can readily be effected by extreme pictures. Sometimes it has irreversible, traumatic damage on the youth's brain. So, they learn these behaviors and perform or imitate them at school with their classmates, having no idea what they are doing. Its effects usually are revealed in the future by turning the child into an unstoppable, angry animal that ruins and hurts everything. For instance, a friend of mine who was always into scary brutal films is in jail now because of destroying the state infrastructures. After they interrogated him, he confessed that he has mental issues since his childhood. If he had not seen those films in the past, he would not have seen himself in prison today.

To draw the conclusion grounded on the above statements, I subscribe to the idea that the adverse effects of watching films and TV are more than positive ones. That is because they decrease people's learning and mental health.