Agree or disagree: Teaching is harder than it was in the past.

The current world is fast changing, and so is teaching. Yesterday, teachers still used chalks and blackboards, while today, however, they heavily rely on electronic aids like keynotes. Although many believe that the changes make teaching more easily than ever, I, nevertheless, deem that it is far more difficult to teach today.

It is commonsensical that the information explosion has made students today increasingly hard to satisfy, since they could learn more from other sources other than from teachers, which makes teachings seemingly dispensable. One of my best and most erudite friend is a typical bad student in my teacher's eyes. Instead of listening to lessons, he spends his course hours on reading and thinking about some deeper problems on the subject. He also learns online via MOOC. Due to his extensive learning, he sometimes could even come up with questions that our teachers fail to provide a proper answer, which makes our teachers quite embarrassed. Once, when I visited my teacher in his office, he told me:" you kids today are more smart than we used to be, and therefore I need to prepare more for the class."

Moreover, the experiences of some successful dropouts like Bill Gates and Steve Jobs also inspired students nowadays not to follow the teachers' instructions. I read a news story the other day, saying that a school child, whose idol is Steve Jobs, believing that he could learn a lot better and become a second Jobs without teachers, never handed in homework on time. At the same time, as Winston Churchill said "I am always willing to learn, but I am not willing to be taught", students today prefer learn by themselves, making teachers difficult to manage the learning pace of the whole class.

As it stands, for one perspective, students could learn from other sources besides teachers, and for another, many young people begin to follow the examples of some successful dropouts against their teachers. Therefore, it is crystal clear that teaching today is far more difficult than ever.