Do you agree or disagree with the following statement Television advertising directed toward young children aged two to five should not be allowed Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

It is known that by law children must have their rights protected by the society. They are in a phase of physical, social and emotional growth. Advertisings should be directed toward a public who are able to perform critical thinking before purchase the announced product. I strongly support the idea that television advertising directed toward very young children should be prohibited. I feel this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, children, specially at this age range, are not mature enough to filter information and decide what is good or bad for them. Advertising campaigns addressed to them take advantage of the judgement absence, therefore, it is abusive and illegal. Furthermore, it is an unethical practice. Therefore, advertising of products that are consumed by the little ones should be directed toward parents, who are able to make rational decisions.

Secondly, precocious exposition to massive television advertising could foster a wide range of bad habits. For example, nutritional bad habits which can cause serious diseases such as obesity, food allergies and high levels of blood fat. The steep increase in infantile obesity numbers is a world health challenge to be surpass. Besides, noxious behaviors can be promoted such as violence and behaviors from the adult phase as eroticization.

Finally, the consumerist pressure can persuade children toward the consume of products and services. This would generate a consumer culture in kids which could stimulate values distortion, for example individualism, prejudice and competition. Furthermore, when children demand for something announced it can influence the consuming decisions of the family and cause familiar stress. Since they would throw a tantrum in order to obtain what they want.

To sum up, I strongly believe that the television advertising directed toward young kids should be prohibited. Since it is nefarious and ineffable to prematurely promote such consumer habits and culture at this age range.