People today spend too much time on personal enjoyment-doing things they like to do-rather than doing things they should do.

The way a person spends his/ her time is very important part of his/ her life. It tells a lot about the characteristics, morality and belief of that person. Some people believe that today the mass population spend too much time on personal enjoyment rather than doing thing they should do. Others disagree. In my view, people today do not spend too much time doings things they should do instead of doing the right things for two reasons.

First, more and more people today are engaging in charity and trying to help the unfortunate people to have a better life. People are using science and technology to connect with people around the world and using this connection for betterment of mankind. This unique opportunity was not present previously. For example, when I was in University studying engineering, my friends and I joined Facebook, a social networking website, for catching up with each other. At first, we used this only for fun. But, through Facebook we came to that a lot of children of my country are deprived of basic education. These indigent children do not have any opportunity to go to school. So, I and my friend created an event in the Facebook to meet up with people who can help to set up a free night school for these children by volunteering. After that, we raised money and bought books, pencils, papers, boards and markers for the school and contacted some children to join our school. They were very excited and we were able to continue our plan successfully. This experience helped me understand that today people have more chances of doing the right things because of technology.

Second, there are many people today who spend time doing things which they enjoy personally and also help the society at the same time. In many universities, researchers and professors are working to invent new technology to help the people. For example, a few days ago, I watched an documentary about a professor of Texas Tech University who is currently researching on target drugs for Cancer. He and his research groups are working hard to find the algorithm which will help to identify the right drug for the cancer patient based on his genetics and condition. This is definitely a great endeavour. But, at the same time, the professor is really enjoying himself. From the video, you could tell that he personally likes what he is doing and will continue to do that. From this, I learnt that things that people like to do and the thing they should do aligns, that is the best scenario for the person.