TPO-34 - Independent Writing Task

Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Educating children is a more difficult task today than it was in the past because they spend so much time on cell phone, online games, and social networking Web site.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Never before has the problem of education been such salient as today. With all distractions bothering children – from cell phone, online games to social networking Web site, parents and teachers are struggling to let them focus on study. Thus, some argue that educating children is more difficult today than it was in the past. Personally speaking, however, I fundamentally disagree with this view because those seemingly harmful tools indeed improve their study efficiency and stimulates their interests.

To begin with, today’s state-of-the-art technology provides children with effective ways to learn. There are mobile applications that teach people how to solve math problems, online games that help them to memorize vocabularies such as word puzzle, and Web sites that offering a range of online courses. Basically, we can learn what we want whenever and wherever. For example, I like to use an application named Shanbay to remember English vocabularies. Its greatness lies in all aspects – be it the clear word definition, the reminder of time to revise, or the list of anonyms and synonyms. Besides, it is so well-designed that encourages me to keep memorizing words every day, making me able to get familiar with many abstruse words and lay a solid foundation for further study. Therefore, taking advantages of those tools enables teachers to teach children in high efficiency.

Moreover, new teaching methods that involves application of multimedia and networking can enhance children’s interests. In the past, the main form of teaching is delivering lectures. Hardly can we deny that it is dull to passively listen to a long lecture. I often see in the school that students fall asleep when taking literature courses, and of course, I am not an exception. Somewhat the teacher’s speech seems more magical than sleeping pills, since all we can do are listening, reading, and taking notes. By contrast, thanks to the development of multimedia and the Internet, nowadays teachers can tutor children in brand new ways, ways that are interactive and attracting. For instance, when talking about evolution, it is favorable for teachers to use documentary videos and pictures to vividly demonstrate the transformation of some species. In this way, children can not only find motivation to study but also learn the knowledge by heart.

In the final analysis, although the excess exposure to those mediates might distract youngsters’ attention, it can be solved by restricting the usage of them. So, I believe that it is easy to educate children now than before due to the effective and inspiring teaching methods that they bring about.