The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The argument that Seatown university (SU) must mimic the policies of Oceania university (OU), based on the survey in Oceania university is a rather weak one. The faculty committee (FC) must provide further substantiation to premises cited to bolster their argument.

To star with, FC must elucidate on the nature of survey at OU. It may be the case that the survey was conducted in OU amongst professors with children at college age and not including the professors with children of other ages. Also, the demographics of professors at SU could be completely different. What if most of the professo...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.