The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"A recent national survey found that the majority of workers with access to the Internet at work had used company computers for personal or recreational activities, such as banking or playing games. In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Using electronic monitoring software is the best way to reduce the number of hours Climpson employees spend on personal or recreational activities. We predict that installing software to monitor employees' Internet use will allow us to prevent employees from wasting time, thereby increasing productivity and improving overall profits."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

The speaker states that in order to increase employer productivity and enhance company profits, monitoring software should be implemented to track the amount of time employees spend on the computer for personal purposes. This argument is not completely cogent from a logical standpoint as it fails to answer three critical questions.

First, the author states that a national survey reported that the majority of workers are using their computers for purposes unrelated to work. Although the numbers may be statistically correct, does this data reflect the activities of Climpson employees? The ...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.