Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

The world has witnesses many inventions, some were great, some were significant and some were not so visible. it is well known, that the greatest of the inventions were focussed on the most needed human problems and they have benefitted the majority of the population. Be it the invention of Alternating current, which took Tesla 40 years of dedicated research or be the evolution of mobile phones. In the light of the proposed recommendation, I agree that the researchers should focus their research on areas that are most beneficial to the majority of the people.

Let's take an instance of one of the greatest inventions of all time, the wheel. In ancient era, people used to cover lengths of distance because of no means of transportation. this resulted in the loss of physical tenacity as well as a significant amount of time. The whole manking benefitted with the invention of the wheel. Though the people who invented it may not be technically termed as scientists or reseachers but they did play a vital role in solving one of the toughest problem statements surrounding the human life. The wheel of the modern era has evolved enormously and is made up of a lot of alloys and is almost used in each and every means of transportation, be it bullet trains or cars.

Apart from this, let's navigate our focus onto the medical research. Flipping through the pages of medical history, one can easily notice that the medicine industry has always addressed the most widely spread diseases, which has affected the majority of the population. Be it the reseach for polio, or cancer medications. Now, let's assume that the entire creamy layer of scientists or researchers cease to work on medications for cancer, AIDS or any other disease whose medication is not that prevalent in the society and is also, not cent percent effective but instead, shift their focus entirely on some rare disease which has infected only a handful of people. that would certainly not pay off well for the major portion of the human race.

Similarly, let's talk about the research in the field of communication. The world has witnessed the remarkable transformation from a wired landline phone to a dual screen dual SIM light weight mobile handset with 24*7 connectivity to the internet. The evolution of data from 2G to 3g, 3g to 4g and soon from 4g to 5G technology, has touched almost every other field of research that has benefitted almost every person on this planet. Be it an driver, whose only source of income is based on driving a car for an APP based company (like Uber) with the help of another company, that helps him navigate (Google), both making use of high speed data connectivities or be it a data scientist who is working on determining the shape and size of a black hole.

However, research in the fields of space science and missions for inter planetory life, doesn't directly benefit most of the human race as far as the present needs are concerned. but, one can simply not overlook the importance in research in these areas given the fast depletion of Earth's natural resources, due to various factors including overpopulation.

In the end, it's true that the scientists/researchers must have a vision and a foresight for the needs of human civilzation that might be visible in the future, but the majority of the focus should be in line to the current needs and requirements, which would benefit the majority of the human population.

data-ad-client="ca-pub-0840098069707635" data-ad-slot="1869373621" data-ad-format="auto" data-adsbygoogle-status="done" style="display: block; height: 254px; width: 986px;">visible; width: 986px;">