In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what in your opinion can/should be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. (Time limit is 40 minutes.)

Nowadays, highly qualified graduates of some countries seem to find it difficult to get a job or career. Take South East Asian countries for example, a big number of nursing graduates are present, however, they can't find a job for their chosen field. There are factors why this is happening at the present time.

Job shortage is mainly because of two things - firstly, there is poverty in a country and secondly, there is overpopulation. These two often come together. Poverty in a country is a serious matter because everything will be affected - people, jobs, government. If the government has no funds for its people, current employees or workers will stick up to their jobs until they reach retirement. This situation then does not give the fresh graduates an opportunity for the job. Because people want to earn a living, it will be hard for them to give up their current jobs. A related problem to this is, the companies would not want to hire those who do not have the experience. Companies cut off finances for trainings when they know that they are short for budget. Overpopulation on the other hand, creates similar dilemma. Too many people will be competing against one another to get the job. More often than not, those who have inside connection gets in even though there are more highly qualified than them.

The only solution that I could think of to solve the issue of unemployment for qualified people is to address the problem of overpopulation and poverty. For most of the countries suffering this, corruption is the main problem - therefore, corruption should be ended. People pay taxes that should be spent for the welfare, not for personal interests of those in the position. If only corruption will be ended, companies will not cut off budgets for trainings, thereby more jobs for highly qualified graduates can be offered.