Nowadays doctors can become very rich. Maybe they should not focus on profitable activities such as plastic surgery or looking after rich patients and concentrate more on patient's health, no matter how rich they are?

To be a doctor is not an easy task as this occupation can be a massive source of income which leads doctors to do profitable activities. Although some people contend that doctors must not take ample money for their patients’ heath, I believe that doctors must develop a balance between activities that service societies for free and gainful activities.

Physicians must help people to become healthier as part of their humanity service. In Indonesia, health cost is very expensive as many drugs and peripherals are imported from advanced countries. Doctors are able to reduce the cost by minimizing their fee. For example, physicians give free health consultation for poor people in a remote area once in a week which would certainly help impoverished people to gain better health.

On the other hand, humanity services can be so stressful that not every physician is able to deal with. In order to maintain their excellent services, they need a way to reduce the tension by having vacation or relax doing everything that they want. Some activities are free, such as sleeping or just sitting on a nice sofa. This, however, is not the case for other entertainments such as travelling and dangerous sports which are famous of their success to diminish stress. In this context, it is acceptable that some doctors take charges to their patients and even higher for rich patients.

To sum up, people expect doctors to concentrate on humanity rather than profit. This expectation must be balanced with an understanding that physicians are humans who need time and money to fulfill their life needs. As a return, doctors should appreciate people’s understanding by giving their best service to society.