Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children today would be happier if they had fewer possessions. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

Nowadays children have more possessions than ever before. While it is essential to own necessities such as clothes, it is not crucial to have, say, a television in their bedrooms in order to survive. I believe that if children were in possession of fewer items, they would be far happier.

As with all humans, the more that children have, the more they would want. This is because they get used to having whatever their hearts desire, and therefore, they wish to have more. Once parents begin buying them things they want but do not necessarily need, they start believing that they can always have their own way. Children no longer think this as a favor, rather they feel it is their right. For example, I know a person who, being an only child, was naturally spoiled by her parents. Every few years, she bought an up-to-date phone, even if her older one was functioning perfectly. Once this pattern started, she believed that it was completely acceptable to change phones regularly, and in fact, she felt entitled to it.

These days, children are highly exposed to social media, where they may see other children their age owning items they have their hearts on. They might even compare themselves with their peers based on how much they own. According to them, happiness is measured based on how many items one possesses. This is why we see so many children pestering their parents to buy them new things, and may also throw tantrums if their parents refuse them anything, as is commonly seen in stores.

If they do not have as much, if not more, than their friends, they may feel inferior to them. This can cause several mental health problems, such as depression, stress, and anxiety. For instance, I know a person who was shunned by his friends just because he did not own an Xbox. This child was friendless and felt neglected by his classmates, leading him to socially withdraw. Had his mother not taken steps to prevent his plunging into severe depression, he would not have been the carefree, happy person he is today.

In short, I believe that children should only have things that are fundamental for daily life. However, we have to make sure that the majority of children are treated this way, so that no one child or group of children feel singled out. This has to be a region-wide effort, such as teachers and parents coming together to solve this issue, or else this decision would not be as effective as it seems.