Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? For students who are planning to work in business, learning about psychology is more important than learning about technology. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In order to have a successful business, a businessperson needs to make efficient use of technology along with proper application of human psychology to business decision-making. Although both of these aspects are important, I believe that preference should be given to learning technology.

Technology and business go hand in hand with success. Technology is disrupting so many areas of business and has taken over so many jobs that it seems threatening to the business of someone who is not proficient in this area. However, those who are aware of the benefits of technology in business, can use it to their advantage. For instance, people can make use of business analysis and AI to forecast trends, and produce goods accordingly. This will save them money and reduce the chance of potential losses. To remain competitive in an ever-changing business environment, it is crucial to make use of technology, and therefore one should learn how to use it if they wish to be a successful businessperson.

Some people may argue that psychology should be given priority when learning how to run a business, as it allows us to manipulate decisions in such a way that would increase our profits. For example, by offering discounts, we increase the chance of sales and therefore increase revenue in spite of the decrease in selling price. Although having knowledge about psychology would be beneficial, I do not believe that it necessary to single it out as a subject as basic psychology would normally be part of the syllabus and a lot of knowledge can be gained through personal experience and daily life. For example, we are more likely to buy something if it is cheaper, so decision-makers decide to price goods at, say $299 rather than $300, as it can seem cheaper at first glance.

In short, I believe both, technology and psychology, are pivotal to run a profitable business, although preference should be given to technology, as it plays a bigger role in the business environment. The use of technology can help us improve production, meet demands and ultimately reduce costs and increase profits. Psychology is relatively a less crucial element, therefore an aspiring businessperson should aim to be competent in the use of technology.