People work because they need money to live. What are some other reasons that people work? Discuss one or more of these reasons. Use specific examples and details to support your answer.

The primary objective of working is to earn money in order to have basic necessities to be able to live.But beyond this, people may have other inducements to work, some of which I will discuss below.

Apart from earning their bread and butter, people may wish to have a job so that they feel that they contribute to society. This may mean that the person wishes to be self-sufficient and not rely on, for example, unemployment compensation to be able to survive or in the case of young adults, their parents.

Being financially stable, they would not have to be dependent on anyone else. Any decisions they make, no matter of what nature, generally only affect them, because no other individual’s hard-earned money is at stake. This can be illustrated by the increasing rate of young people who opt to start earning, even if the job pays less, as soon as they can.This way, they can at least buy their everyday necessities or help fund their studies etc. This would ultimately lessen the burden on their parents or guardians.

Another reason for choosing to work would be to gain experience. There might be children who would wish to work during vacations, such as gaining an internship or volunteering somewhere in order to gain experience, so that once they go out in search for a full-time job they would have enough experience and skills as well as work ethics to be able to work in an actual work environment.

Besides this, the third reason for wanting a job would be to fend off boredom. For example, stay-at-home-moms may wish to work or start working again, especially once their children grow older. This helps them change up their otherwise repetitive and dull routine. Even if they do not need extra money, going out to work and meeting other people can be refreshing and the job itself can give one satisfaction, especially if it is challenging yet achievable.

To sum up, earning money is not the only motive for choosing to work. Besides being financially independent, people may wish to work to avoid being bored, to gain experience or to be able to contribute to society. However, it should be noted that these are not the only reasons for wanting to work as the reason for working can be different from person to person.