Some people prefer to play team sports, while others prefer to play individual sports. Discuss the advantages of each. Then indicate which you prefer and why.

Nowadays there are a lot of different sports, and every single sport requires to have some certain mental characteristics in order to thrive on a particular game. All of the various sport games could be divided by two big groups: individual sports and team sports. Each group has its own advantages and disadvantages, and in the following passages below I will provide some of them.

First of all, individual sports develop sense of self-reliance. For instance, when you play chess, it is only up to you to make a particular decision in the game and subsequently make a move. Moreover, it teaches you to be highly-disciplined, stress tolerated. Thus, doing individual sport can greatly impact your career perspectives, since you tend to be more individualistic and rely only on yourself.

On the other hand, team sports can help grow a sense of community. Team games usually develop skills of working in group, contribution and, of course, leadership. And besides, the existence of mutual goal strengthens the relationships between every member of the team. It is also interesting to point out the mentality of players in team games, because often players sacrifice themselves for the victory, for instance, playing with injury. So, to summarize my point, team games help people to build social interactions with other people, which could be very crucial in some situations, for example, working on a mutual project etc.

Personally, I prefer individual games, because I like to come up with new ideas, formulas, tricks and strategies in order to win. Another thing that I like about individual sports, is that nobody distracts me from my thoughts so I can think and play on my own.

To genuinely wrap it up, sports in general have become a very important part of our lives. Every sport has its pros and cons, and it depends on individual’s preferences what sport to choose, either to play individual game or team game.