According to a recent report, cheating among college and university students is on the rise. However, Groveton College has successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code, which calls for students to agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty member if they suspect that others have cheated. Groveton's honor code replaced a system in which teachers closely monitored students; under that system, teachers reported an average of thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor code in place than without. Thus, all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The above issue is based on a recent report that the cheating among college and university students is on the rise. In contrast, it also underscored a college named Groveton College which had successfully reduced student cheating by adopting an honor code. Moreover, critically analyzing their data for a couple of years they made a conclusion that all colleges and universities should adopt honor codes similar to Groveton's in order to decrease cheating among students. Consequently, this argument is quite interesting and as well as it also create lots of ambiguous facts.

Here, it is explained that after applying the honor code the rate of cheating is decreased gradually. It is important to emphasize the fact that all the students in the college and universities are not devoted to moral values and social ethics. For example, in a college or university, there are some students who are sedulous, scrupulous, docile and well-mannered and in any conundrum or critical circumstances they will never abjure their ethics and moral values. On the other hand, there are some student who are unscrupulous, obsequious and precocious in social values and moral ethics and in any circumstances, they will do any kind of unethical and antithetical works. So, it cannot be possible by applying only a honor code to completely eradicate or highly diminish the rate of cheating because the unethical students will not follow any kind of rules and regulations.

Another important point to mention, it is not possible for the teachers to monitor all the students because the number of students in the colleges and universities are not proportional to the number of the teachers. There are higher possibility that teachers cannot monitor the activities of all the students and they can never able to estimate the accurate number of the students who are cheating and who are not cheating.

Consequently, it is stated that in the first year the honor code was in place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating and five years later; this figure had dropped to fourteen. But, it is not mentioned here the total number of the students of the school in those year. It can be possible that in the first year the number of the student is higher and after five year the total number of student is less than the first year. In this circumstance, it can be possible that the number of cheating in the last year is higher considering the total number of students. It is a paramount information which is not provided here and we cannot rely on the basis of the percentage value only.

Another issue is, however, if this rule is become a great success in the Groveton College, there is no possibility that this rule is valid in the other college and universities. The ethics, scruples and environment in every college and university is different. Furthermore, if any rule is applied in the institution by the authority, it is totally on the basis of the nature and environment of the institution and the students of that institution. So, we cannot clearly prescience that the honor code will be a great and huge success in every institution.

In conclusion, it can be asserted that every college and university has it is own and unique rules and regulations on the basis of their ethics, scruples and moralities and for the success of those institutions it will be better to not force any kind of rules and regulations to them. They should create their own rules for their betterment and prosperity.