Arctic deer live on islands in Canada's arctic regions. They search for food by moving over ice from island to island during the course of the year. Their habitat is limited to areas warm enough to sustain the plants on which they feed and cold enough, at least some of the year, for the ice to cover the sea separating the islands, allowing the deer to travel over it. Unfortunately, according to reports from local hunters, the deer populations are declining. Since these reports coincide with recent global warming trends that have caused the sea ice to melt, we can conclude that the purported decline in deer populations is the result of the deer's being unable to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The writer asserts that the reason behind the decline in deer populations is that they're no longer able to follow their age-old migration patterns across the frozen sea. According to the writer, the primary reason behind this is the melting of the sea ice caused by Global Warming. Even though the writer's assertion may be correct, further evidence is required to establish its correctness completely.

Firstly, it is not clear if the arctic deer follow the tradition just out of habit, or do they really need to do it for their sustenance? It might be the case that a single island has enough food to support its deer population and the deer don't actually need to migrate to fulfill their food requirements. Therefore, an in-depth biological analysis needs to be done on the behavorial patterns of the arctic deer in Canada's arctic regions to establish the requirement of migration. If evidence is found supporting the fact that a single island is not enough to support a whole lifetime of a deer and that it is imperative for them to move from island to island, then the writer's argument will be substantiated.

Second, we don't know the extent of the effects of Global Warming on the Canadian Islands. We know that global warming has varied effects throughout the world because of which, we need more evidence to support the claim that global warming has made it impossible for the deer to move between islands. Also, we need to know if global warming affects the sea ice during the migration season of the deer. The writer's statement hints that the migrational behavior of the deer might be seasonal in nature, and hence their traditions will only be hindered if the global warming affects them during that season. Therefore, we need to find evidence studying the effects of global warming in detail in that region. If the evidence proves that indeed it has become impossible for the deer to move between islands, the writer's claim will be further strengthened. However, an evidence pointing in the opposite direction will weaken the claim.

Finally, we need to look for other possible reasons behind the dwindling deer population as well. It is possible that the increase in global warming has simply coincided with the oncoming of other factors detrimental to the sustenance of deer. For example, it can be an increase in the population of the deer predators in the area which has resulted in this fall, or some disease might have affected the plant population making it unfit for consumption by the deer. In these cases, it will be erronuous to connect co-relation (increase in global warming) and causation (other factors). Therefore, a complete biological survey and analysis is required to get to the root of the cause behind the decreasing deer population. If we find that there are other factors contributing towards the observations, the writer's argument will be weakened.

Therefore, we can say that the writer's claim can not be simply taken at its face value. A more cogent line of argument is required to do a complete assessment of the conclusion. More evidence will be helpful in establishing the validity of the statement and will help us get to the truth.