ARGUMENT: Several charitable organizations in Pleasantville provide opportunities for teenagers to engage in community service. These organizations have a great need for volunteers, but in recent years, the number of teenage volunteers has significantly d

Author's argument to make 40 hours of charity work mandatory is based

on some assumptions that dictate the validity of the argument. The

argument would turn out to be sound and logical if these assumptions

are proven to support the claim.

The author's suggestion is primarily based on the opinion of some

local residents of the city as citizens agree to the importance of

participation of young people in community service. However, the

number of people agreeing with this argument has not been specified.

If majority of the residents disagree with the author, the argument

tends to lose its meaning. On the contrary, agreement of most of the

local citizens would buttress the claim of the author. Moreover, even

if the most of the citizens agree that students should participate in

community service, this by no means indicate that this should be

imposed on the youth. May be people believe that the urge to do

community service should come from within rather than forcing it

extrinsically. Thus, this opinion would significantly weaken the

author's argument.

Additionally, even if the community service is made mandatory, this

may not make youth realize the importance of giving back to community.

The writer has assumed the psychology of the youth to be naive, as in

his opinion the imposition of the restriction would eventually do good

to them. However, his assumption may turn out to be false, students

might think otherwise, as they may feel vexed with the restrictions

and begin to see the community service a medium to suppress their

freedom.

Another assumption that author relies on is the significant decline of

volunteers in charity organizations. Nonetheless, this information is

inadequate to prove validity of the argument. It may be true that the

youth has migrated from the traditional charity organizations to new

mediums. For example, they may have switched to internet to provide

free tuition classes to needy and poor junior students. The author has

not provided the reason of the decline and assumed the decline

indicates youth's lack of interest and participation in community

service. If this assumption is proven wrong, the whole argument is

rendered meaningless as there would be no problem demanding such a

measure.

In the conclusion, the information on opinion distribution of

citizens, the psychology of youth and the reason as well as nature of

decline in the number of participation of youth in community service

would prove out to be critical for the evaluation of the argument.