Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

In the preceding argument, the director from the Super Screen Movie Production Company claims that the reason why fewer people attended their movies last year is that people are not aware of the existence of good movies from the company, instead of the content of their movies are not good. Thus the director asserts more investment should be added to advertising in the next year. This argument may sound appealing at first glance. However, upon careful scrutiny, it is rife with flaws and premises.

To begin with, the advertising director asserts that fewer people attended the company's movie in the last year was not because of the movies' content are not good, for the number of positive reviews on some of the movies produced last year actually rose. However, we don't know the average level of quality of all the movies produced. It is possible that some of the movies were of good quality and attracted more audiences, but others were not good enough, thus the number of viewers as a whole decreased in the past year. To strengthen his or her argument, a more detailed statistical analysis on each of the movie is needed.

Additionally, the director doesn't compare the quality of content of their movies with the ones from other companies. We know the movie industry is quite competitive. It may be true that the Super Screen's movies have better contents compared to its previous works and received more positive reviews, but if other rival companies produced even better movies, then people will be attracted to those movies. What's more, content is just one aspect to assess a movie, and other factors such as visionary effects, music play an even more important role. Thus, the company should carry out a more comprehensive analysis to assess their movies before making a judgment.

Last but not least, building upon the implications that movies produced by the Super Screen are not reaching the audiences, the director suggests increasing budget in advertising in the next year. However, increasing investment in advertising means less money can be used to produce movies. Although more people will be attracted to watch their movies in the next year, but the quality of movies would decrease because of lack of investment, so it is unlikely that the number of viewers will be significantly higher.

Due to aforementioned evidence, although advertising may promote the popularity of movies from the Super Screen, a deeper and more detailed investigation should be carried out to make sure why there were fewer viewers the last year. Only then can the company come up with an efficient solution to its problem.