Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced

The author tries to analyse the reasons behind the drop in viewership of Super Screen produced movies. In the process, he identifies lack of awareness of the supposedly good quality of movies among the public and therefore proposes to allocate a greater share of the budget to outreach via advertising.

The author begins his analysis by pulling a report from the marketing department and identifies a dip in the viewer count over the last year. Without asking if it is a general trend attributed to a possible economic slowdown, it cannot be clearly ascertained if the perceived reduction is actually due to movie quality. If productions of other movie houses are witnessing a similar dip in the numbers, there isn't anything to worry about and the proposed hike in advertising budget would be unwarranted.

Subsequently, he notices that the number of postitive reviews about specific movies going up. However, it is not clear if the those specific movies are representative of the kind of movies that Super Screen usually produces. It is possible that the other movies (the non-specific ones) are actually attracting negative reviews and one-off specific reviews are gaining marginal positive attention over others. Maginal, because the actual increase in the number of positive reviews is not established. If it is a 10% increase, the increase need not be really due to the quality of the movie and could be due to curiosity among viewers (since it is a specific movie).

To elaborate further, it is not known who is authoring the supposedly shiny reviews of the specific movies. If it turns out that the reviews are non-critical and are not from seasoned, renowned reviewers, it is not wise to base an increase in the advertising budget on these not so critical reviews from fans and movie-goers. These authors might be fascinated by movies of a given genre and may not accurately review the standard elements of a movie.

Furthermore, the author somehow assumes that the good reviews are not reaching people without asking if the medium or the platform on which these reviews written, is popular among customers. It could be possible that a new movie review website has opened its doors to reviews. The author in this case, should look at reviews of all movies that Super Screen has ever produced, from established review websites such as IMDB. Since the reviews are moderated and upvoted by the commuity, these reviews would present a fair and unbiased view of the quality of the movies. Unless the authenticity of the new reviews is established, it does not make a compelling case for a hike in the advertising budget.

Finally, talking about the advertising budget, the author should analyse or conduct a survey of the effectiveness of the advertising methods currently employed at Super Screen. It may not be an issue with the quality of the movie or the viewership count and might be related to the advertising reach. Instead of pumping more money into a feeble advertising program, the author should look at improving the quality of advertisements and ensure maximum reach, thereby pleasing the management at Super Screen.

Given the current state of the analysis, it is highly unlikely that the management at Super Screen movies would be convinced to raise their advertising budget without curiously finding answers to the above questions.