"In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago."

The following argument states that even though Prunty County has reduced the speed limits from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways last year, the number of accidents have not decreased. Also according to the reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding their speed limits. The arguer suggests to implement similar changes implements 5 years ago in Butler county which includes increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. It is stated that these changes in Butler County have reduced accidents by 25 percent. While at first sight, this argument seems quite convincing, after critical analysis, it becomes hard to get convinced since it lags several crucial points.

The argument in its first statement suggests that the speed limit has been decreased from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all the highways, and later suggests that the rate of accidents has not decreased. The argument critically lags a point stating that the accidents are measured from which roads? What if the internal minimal roads are the major reasons for the accidents? Since there is mention of speed limit change on the internal roads, we can assume that the measured data for road accidents remains unaffected. Hence it may decrease if the same speed limit rules are applied to all the roads of Prunty County without implementing changes in Butler County.

The reports by the highway patrol suggest that any drivers are exceeding their speed limits. Hence, apart from the modifications made by the Butler County, changes in the strictness of the speed limit rule may force people to follow the rule strictly and hence it is possible that it can result in reduced accidents. There has also been a case that these rules have been made stricter along with the improvement in roads of Butler County 5 years ago. Thus the people there, till today might have been already trained to drive adequately. This can be the reason for the decrease in accidents in Butler County and not the other factors like broadening the road etc.

The arguer hasn't also taken into consideration both the location and the population of both the Counties. What if there has been migration of significant population from Bulter County to some other place within a long span of 5 years, and hence there are no crowded routes which has led to reduced accidents and not the developments of the roughness of the roads. There can also be a case that Prunty County is situated in some hilly area and hence it might not be feasible to widen the roads, but instead following the reduced speed limit may prove more efficient.

In addition, there can also be differences in the skills of the drivers of both the counties. It might be a case that within these years, the driver training procedures have been made more efficient in Butler County and hence, in contrast, the reason for decreased accidents. Hence, this can be implementable measures in Prunty Count apart from the other modification implemented in Butler County on roads. Considering the above counterarguments, we may conclude that implementing similar developments like that in Butler County might not be suitable for Prunty County. Instead giving more time may prove that the reduced speed limit has proven to be an effective measure.