"On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island's moped rental companies from 50 per day to 25 per day during the summer season. By limiting the number of rentals, the town council will attain the 50 percent annual reduction in moped accidents that was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville's town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The conclusion about reducing 50% the moped accidents is not well supported by the author’s statements. Author suggests that limiting the number of moped rentals will effectively reduce the rate of accidents on Bolmer Island, while this could be true under certain conditions the author fails to establish which ones were used to derive the conclusion. The relationship between the assumptions presented in the statement and the conclusion is logically deficient, it will be wiser if the author

Firstly, the increment in population every summer could be the result of seasonal touristic activity which is beneficial for the economy of the Island. As it was pointed out by the author, the mopeds are a popular form of transportation. If the usage of mopeds is constrained then the tourist activity might be affected, putting the economy of the Island in a risky situation. Alongside this troublesome economy and the lesser availability of mopeds, the congestion and the chances of accidents might increase. Council would find useful to wonder if reducing the availability of mopeds will not worse the economy of Island and consequently the transportation system?.

Furthermore, the author quotes an example of a similar legislation ruled in the island of Seaville, Bolmer policy aims to mimic the result of Seaville. However, the author does not cite the conditions of Seaville before the legislation was promulgated. Several factors such as demographic, economic, and even tourist conditions play an important role for this legislation to be successful in reducing the moped accidents in Seaville. The author could have wonder if the circumstances between the aforementioned islands are different. Given that this fundamental question was not raised, there is no reason to believed that the legislation in Beamer will lead to the same results as in Seaville. The author mistakenly relies in assuming this comparison as veritable, weakening the conclusion.

In addition, author might have found useful to examine other causes of moped accidents, one could question, are the moped security standards still suitable to handle the island transportation system?. If affirmative, the council could have reformulated a different legislation that focus on enhancing the security standards used by moped.

In conclusion, the author fails to support the conclusion by mistakenly assuming that accidents could be reduced by limiting the moped availability. The author does not have a forward-looking view of the consequences of this constrain— moped accidents might increase—. Moreover, the author fails to address the circumstances in Seaville island before legislation implementation, if circumstances differs from the ones of Bolmer then the conclusion lacks of creditability.