On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the

The author claims here that to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town of Balmer Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by the island’s moped rental companies by half during the summer season as population increases during the summer. The arguments fails to mention several key factors, on the basis of which it could be evaluated whether the claim is likely to have the predicted result. To justify this recommendation, the author reasons that similar goal was achieved last year on the neighboring island of Seaville, when Seaville’s town council enforced similar limits on moped rentals. However, careful scrutiny of the evidence reveals that it provides little credible support for the author’s recommendation. Hence, the argument can be considered incomplete or unsubstantiated.

First of all, the argument readily assumes that mopeds are the only reason of accidents in Balmer. This is merely an assumption made without much solid ground. For example, accidents can be due to pedestrian’s carelessness also, but author did not take that into consideration. Similarly, there can a number of other reasons for accidents. Also, author did not mention the difference in population during summer and non-summer months. Is this difference by 1000 or 50000? Hence, the argument would have been more convincing if it explicitly proves that rented mopeds are causing accidents when the population is increasing by a significant number.

The author claims also points out that accidents will reduce by 50% by limiting the moped rentals from 50 per day to 25 per day. If so, then what about the owned mopeds. Surely, if they reduce the number of rented mopeds, people will start getting their own mopeds and then who is to be blamed for the accidents that will still be going on? This, again, is a weak and unsupported claim as it does not demonstrate any clear correlation between renting mopeds and accidents. If the argument had provided evidence that rented mopeds are the only cause of accidents, then it would have been a lot more convincing to the reader.

Finally, the author cites that since something worked for Seaville, it would work for Balmer too. It provides little credible support for author’s conclusion in respect that Seaville and Balmer are two different places with a lot differences. For example, the population can be different, number of mopeds can be different, people might have been more careful while walking in streets and a lot more. Without convincing answers to these questions, the reader is left with the impression that the claims made by the author are more of a wishful thinking rather than substantive evidence.

In conclusion, the author’s argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster it further, the author must provide more concrete evidence, perhaps by way of a reliable survey of the reasons for accidents during summers in Balmer. Finally, to better evaluate the argument, it would be necessary to know more information about what are the main reasons behind accidents between mopeds and pedestrians.