Butter has now been replaced by margarine in Happy Pancake House restaurants throughout the southwestern United States. Only about 2 percent of customers have complained, indicating that 98 people out of 100 are happy with the change. Furthermore, many se

In given article, the author assume that through replacing margarine from butter, Happy Pancake House restaurants in the southeast and northeast are expected to drastically increase their profit. However, despite the presented argument, several questions need to be answered for each of the argument to be assessed adequately.

First of all, the author assumes that most of responses from customers about 98 percent prefer to margarine than butter, whereas only 2 percent of customers does not. This report might be questionable whether how many people have involved in the survey and about the age diversity. For strengthen the assumption, these two are prepared, the percent is dependent on the sample size of respondents. Even 98 percent of customers tend to have preferences on margarine, it would not be convincing evident to support the survey if the sample size is significantly low. Moreover, in the case of the age diversity, respondents are not reliable when the diversity is focused on the specific age such as twenties. Thus, in order to bolster the survey from customers, the author might corroborate the supporting evidence pertaining to the sample size and age dependency.

Furthermore, the author presents that according to the survey, customers cannot distinguish between better and margarine. However, the author’s assumption leads readers to be questionable what evidences corroborate the assumptions would suggested in the reading passage. Unless the survey method done is fully adequate for making decision, only decision with not enough evidence and not convincing. Therefore, further proof such as plausible survey methods is necessitated to build strong connection with the conclusion that the surveyed customers cannot distinguish which food are used with butter or margarine.

Finally, in the reading passage, the assumption that the change from butter are plausible for Happy Pancake House in northeast as well as southeast, which as a result, make dramatic profits for them. The argument could not be explained clearly with the evidence in the argument. The survey is done for Happy Pancake House in southeast, not for in northeast the conclusion might become aberration. Hence, further evidence might substantiate this argument.

To sum up, in order to bolster and make more plausible, the questions mentioned above might be fulfilled.