Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In this article a prediction about the fall of the sale price on life -size figures found in Kali island is made due to recent discoveries of molds of hands and heads. The absence of miniature sculptures and tools also in the opinion of the author indicates that the figures were not sculpted but molded. This prediction raises a series of question especially for the arguments used to support it. I found them and prioritized them in the following paragraphs.

The author of this article is making a weak connection between two aspects. More specificaly, he is mentioning that the newly discovered molds only of human heads and hands in the area of Kali indicate that molds where used for the whole body as well. This is vague and needs to be cleared, for example, what if the molds found were used only for the heads and the hands an the rest of the body was sculptured and then the pieces were connected? Afterall clay is a substance that can be plastered and no one could see the connection between the hand and head with the main body. Therefore, a question arises whether these molds can be used as facts that other molds of bodies exist too. The author should find another survey or new archeological excavations should be made in the area in order to answer this question. If body molds are found then the argument of the author is valid and the collectors surely do not have to pay so much money for something that it is not crafted.

In the article it is mentioned that the non existance of miniature sculptures is due to the limitations with the molds. The molds could only be made for human-sized sculptures only. This is a weak analogy between the two things, for example the miniature sculptures may not exist because with the tools of this time even if the sculptors were so eloquent they could not make realistic sculptures so they focused only on bigger size sculptures that wre more easily sculpted. This example and many others cast a doubt on the authors view. Therefore, we need to ask for more information from surveys and excavations regarding the tools of this time and regarding the existance of these sculptures or molds. Even if one of the above is found this could seriously raise the value of the sculptures and contradict the authors point.

The author in two points at his article is mentioning that artifacts were not found. Specificaly he is mentioning that miniature sculptures where not found and that tools were not found. The author seems to completely disregard time and the effect that it has one human made artifacts especially in clay which is easily destroyed by natural disasters. For example, if the tools of this age were made of wood and stone then it is possible that a flooding or the time eroded them and eventually destroyed them and this is why we cannot find any tools. Therefore, a survey should be conducted from manuscripts or any other written data from this time age in order to determine what materials where used for the sculpting tools and if it is found that these materials can be destroyed by the time that has passed upon them then this could signal that tools were made and the human figures were indeed sculpted and their price is with accordance to their value.

To sum up, in this essay a series of questions that were raised due to a weak connection, a weak analogy and the disregarding of the time the author is making were mentioned. The way the questions help to make the recommendation of the author were also stated.