The council of Maple County, concerned about the county's becoming overdeveloped, is debating a proposed measure that would prevent the development of existing farmland in the county. But the council is also concerned that such a restriction, by limiting

In the preceeding argument, both opponents and supporters for the measure proposed by the council of Maple County hold quite plausible concerns, adducing the experience of other towns. However, a closer scrutiny sheds light on a plethora of unanswered questions in the argument, which ought to be resolved before an agreement is made.

To begin with, while the council is worrying about the overdevelopment of the area, no evidence is proffered to show whether this concern is nacessary or not. If Maple County does not face this problem at all, restricting exploitation of farmland in the county would be devastating to the economy. To answer this question, a thorough investigation is needed to evaluate the economic and social conditions of Maple County. Only with concrete facts substantiating the possibility of overdevelopment can the discussion of measures to tackle this problem be meaningful.

What is more, even if the council of Maple County does need to counter overdevelopment, it is still problematic for the proponents and opponents of the proposal to raise the example of other counties. There is no doubt that every county is unique and has its own characteristics, so citing experience of other towns need discretion. In the argument, the author does not offer any information in comparing the three towns mentioned, which undermines the valuation of adducing what had happened in other counties to substantiate people's opinions.

Last but not least, time is also a considerable factor. The supporters and opponents of the proposed measure used examples that happened 10 years and 15 years ago, respectively. Imaginably, the situation has changed a lot during this period. In fact, it even does not make sense to make comparison between Chestnut County and Pine County, not to mention having reference value for Maple County. Therefore, it is imperative for the council to study the alteration of economy in the past one or two decades before using policies enacted previously in predicting the outcomes of new ones.

In sum, while the two sides holding opposing views for the proposed measure both used similar actions taken before in defending their opinions, the argument is rife with holes and questions. Without answering these questions that are crucially important for the judgement of the proposal, the predictions made in the argument that the proposed measure would drive the increase in housing prices in Maple County is unlikely to be valid.