The data from a survey of high school math and science teachers show that in the district of Sanlee many of these teachers reported assigning daily homework, whereas in the district of Marlee, most science and math teachers reported assigning homework no more than two or three days per week. Despite receiving less frequent homework assignments, Marlee students earn better grades overall and are less likely to be required to repeat a year of school than are students in Sanlee. These results call into question the usefulness of frequent homework assignments. Most likely the Marlee students have more time to concentrate on individual assignments than do the Sanlee students who have homework every day. Therefore teachers in our high schools should assign homework no more than twice a week.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument indicating that high-school students should be assigned with less homework based on the survey of two schools in Sanlee and Marlee district is neither reliable nor robust. It relies on three assumptions that needs further examination before reaching into conclusions.

First of all, are the students in the district of Sanlee and the students in the district of Marlee comparable? It is possible that the students in the district of Marlee on average come from wealthier families and thus earn better grades, in which case the amount of workload may not be directly linked to the overall discrepancy of the students' performance. If the students' academic intelligence are different before school admission, the so-called evidence of 'better grades' would not be accountable.

Secondly, does the quality of schooling in these two district the same? In other words, do teachers teach classes similarly and give homework in similar ways? It is very likely that the difference in grades is not caused by the quantity of the assignments, but rather the quality of the assignments and classes. Marlee students may be encouraged by their teacher to do individual works while Sanlee students are not. If any of the above assumptions is true, then the suggestion that promotes reducing the homework to no more than twice a week does not hold water.

Lastly, even if both the students and the teachers' abilities are initially about the same, could the survey finding apply in a greater population? Less homework might be beneficial to students in terms of math and science while it may be harmful to students in terms of history and art. These two schools' situations may be a special case that can not be generalize nationwide or worldwide. The data collected from only two high schools in limited disciplines and limited district is not enough to derive a robust argument.

In conclusion, we need a more detailed understanding of the students initial academic abilities, the school's teaching methods, as well as more research evidence from different schools and disciplines to evaluate the suggested recommendation fully and responsibly.