Evidence suggests that academic honor codes, which call for students to

agree not to cheat in their academic endeavors and to notify a faculty

member if they suspect that others have cheated, are far more successful

than are other methods at deterring cheating among students at colleges

and universities. Several years ago, Groveton College adopted such a code

and discontinued its old-fashioned system in which teachers closely

monitored students. Under the old system, teachers reported an average of

thirty cases of cheating per year. In the first year the honor code was in

place, students reported twenty-one cases of cheating; five years later, this

figure had dropped to fourteen. Moreover, in a recent survey, a majority of

Groveton students said that they would be less likely to cheat with an honor

code in place than without.

?rite a response in which you discuss one or more alternative explanations

that could rival the proposed explanation and explain how your

explanation(s) can plausibly account for the facts presented in the argument.

In Groveton COllege, given the decline in the number of reported cases of cheating and the results of a survey, the author claims that the implementation of honor code is more successful than other methods of deterring students from cheating. Although this may be true, but there a number of alternative explantions for the cited observations that seriousle undermine his claim.

The author claimed that in Groveton COllege in years following the implementation of the honor code the numer of reported cases of cheating have been declining steadily over the years compared to the prior years in whcih teachers monitored for cheating. The honor code calls for students not only to abstain from cheating themselves bu also to report anyone witnessed to have cheated. This method might work only if the students have a very strong scruples. In the tense moment of an exam when a student has forgotten an answer that is easily within view on the sript of an adjacent examinee, it takes a unbelievable amount of self-control and scruples to miss up this opportunity. Moreover, even if he did glean a glance from his fellow examinee the honor code doesn't explicitly enjoin him to present himself as a criminal to the faculty members; and doing that would require even more determination and a lot more scruples.

Ratting out ones friends and classmates is something that is likely seen as very ignoble among students. Students who are later found guilty of ratting out his classmates is likely to face vitriolic criticism from his peers. If any student exposed his fellow classmate to faculty members then the student who reported the perpetration is either very loyal to the honor code, or he just didn't like the one who he exposed. Moreover, a number of students could be cheating together in collusion and hence the faculty will never know of their wrongdoing.

Furthermore in exams with a very serious time restriction, students will be too busy to spy on his fellow examinees. In these cases , therefore students supervising themselves is unlikely to reveal cases of cheating even if they occured. These cases show that the actual cases of cheating may have been constant, or even increasing, even though the number of reported cases show otherwise

The author also cited a survey to corrorborate his claim that student would be less likely to cheat when under an honor code. Once again the results of the survey is underpinned on the veracity of the students. If students had the mindset to cheat in exams or even connive to such cases of cheating is likely to have the mendacity to lie on a survey as well. Furthermore, the demographic and the method of the survey was left unmentioned. If the survey only questioned students from a particular subject or other subgroup, then the results of the survey is unlikey to be applicable to the rest of the students of Groveton Colege. Thus the results of the survey is not very helpful in supporing the author's case.

Thus both the authors supporting evidences are open to expanations that devolve his claim. Hence the author should look for other means of bolstering his claim.