The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

"Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it might be true that Dr. Field's study about children in Tertia village was not as accurate as recent research done by recent anthropologist; however, the author's argument does not make a cogent sense. It is easy to understand that interview-centered method might be more accurate than just an observation method, but this argument is rife with holes and assumptions therefor, not strong enough to make a conclusion about these two research methods accuracy.

The author indicates that Dr. Field's conclusion about cultural research in island of Tertia from twenty years ago compared to recent cultural study is not valid because of different results. However, the author does not provide any information about changes in island of Tertia during last twenty years which is an important aspect. For example, families might have less children compared to twenty years ago. As a result, families have more time to spend with their own children and raise them. On the other hand, there is a possibility that due to adaption to technology such as internet children have less time to spend with other adults compared to twenty years ago.

Additionally, the author implies that the recent interview-centered method is more valid than twenty years ago observation method which does not make sense. There is no explanation about interview questions details which is important to clarify. There could be yes and no questions or short answer questions that make a different perspective. Moreover, the author does not mention about sample group in the recent and old cultural studies. For example, the sample group for old research could be bigger than recent research which indicates that these two studies cannot be compared.

The author mentions that the recent study has been done by team of graduate students which makes a different story. There is no guarantee if graduate students know their jobs accurately or not. They might just be overwhelmed with lot of projects to do that can result in not accurate research results.

This suggestion is persuasive when the author gathers information about old and recent cultural researches and population differences and similarities. After answering these questions, the author can make such a conclusion.