The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The specified argument has some serious flaws. The culture might have been different twenty years ago, and hence Dr. Field conclusion is different than that by Dr. Karp. The number of children interviewed by Dr. Karp is not mentioned in the argment; the sample might not be representative of the entire population. There is no evidence to suggest that Dr. Karp’s interview-centered method will work for other island cultures.

First, the lifestyle of Tertia might have been very different from the current one. Children then might have been reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents, in contrast to childeren being reared by their biological parents nowadays. This might be the reason why Dr. Field and Dr. Karp reached different conclusions. For instance, if a study was conducted twenty years ago to find the most popular music in America, the results would have been rock music. But, if the same study is conducted now, the results would be pop. The study conducted twenty years ago can’t be declared as incorrect; people’s tastes and lifestyle change with time. So, to evaluate the argument, the information about whether there is a significant change in the lifestyle today and twenty years ago, is required. The argument would be weakened if the evidence suggests that there is a significant change in lifestyle.

Second, the argument does not specify the number of children interviewed by Dr. Karp and his team of graduate students. This number might be very less, and hence the sample might not be representative of the entire population. So, the conclusion reached by Dr. Karp might be incorrect. Hence, information about the number of children interviewed by Dr. Karp is required. If this number is very less, then this would weaken the argument seriously.

Finally, it is stated in the argument that the interview-centered method that Dr. Karp’s team of graduates is currently using will work for other island cultures as well, in addition to Tertia. There is no evidence provided in the passage which supports the claim that the interview-centered method will work for other island cultures. So,this information is required. If the evidence suggests that in all island cultures, children are reared by their biological parents, then the argument would be strengthened.

In conclusion, to evaluate the argument, the evidence cited above is required to evaluate the given argument.