The following appeared in an article written by Dr. Karp, an anthropologist.

“Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument attempts to conclude that, the interview-centered method is a much more accurate system than observation based understanding of the child-rearing tradition in different cultures. The conclusion is based on the premises that, the recent interview of the article's author shows deviation from the report of an observation, which was conducted 20 years ago. However, in deeper analysis, it is evident that, some important factual information is missing in the article and some question's regarding the interview unanswered, which seriously undermine the whole statement and it's conclusion.

One such flaw in the argument is that, no one claimed that the observation made 20 years ago by Dr. Field was an authentic one and that is why questioning the validity, does not contain that much significance. Additionally, the observation made by the anthropologist is based on what factors or criteria is not also specified in the article. From what ground Dr. Field claimed that the children in the village were reared by the entire children rather than their parents is not specified there. So, the information regarding the observation tends to zero, which seriously undermines the latter part of the argument, as the argument is based on that observation and questioning it's validity. The author of the argument can be benefited from providing some factual information of the observation, which was made 20 years ago, for example, criteria of the observation, the logical reasoning of the conclusion.

Secondly, the author argues that, the interview came up with some information which directly repudiate the claim of the observation of Dr. Field. But the validity and scope of the interview was not also specified. As, the interview was conducted with some children, living in a group of islands including Tertia, but how many of those children were from Tertia was not specified. For Instance, if there were 50 children questioned in the interview, whereas, only 5 of them were from Tertia, than the interview conducted will not be a representative of the culture or the people of that Tertia island. Moreover, the question pattern of the interview was not also specified, which seriously undermines the claim that the children are reared by their parents. For example, if the question pattern is something like that, it emphasize on their family matters, the occupation of their parents, their parents role in educating themselves, obviously most of the answers will be related to their parents. So, the author should have specified the question pattern to make his argument more strong.

To conclude, the argument lacks information and fails to provide factual evidence regarding his interview. The conclusion of the argument seems tenuous due to incipient assumptions and logical flow. The author should have provided more concrete information to make his argument a more cogent one.