The following appeared in an editorial in a business magazine.

"Although the sales of Whirlwind video games have declined over the past two years, a recent survey of video-game players suggests that this sales trend is about to be reversed. The survey asked video-game players what features they thought were most important in a video game. According to the survey, players prefer games that provide lifelike graphics, which require the most up-to-date computers. Whirlwind has just introduced several such games with an extensive advertising campaign directed at people ten to twenty-five years old, the age-group most likely to play video games. It follows, then, that the sales of Whirlwind video games are likely to increase dramatically in the next few months."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The writer of the article avers that the company named Whirlwind can sell a huge amount of video games by presenting several proofs for his argument. Although these supporting points seem to be reasonable at the first glance, they are just based on logical fallacies and unwarranted assumptions. Therefore, if the author cannot strengthen his opinion with more reliable data and evidence, the main argument of this article would not be considered cogent.

To begin with, the quoted survey cannot affirm that the company's products will be attractive to the majority of gamers. Although the survey mentions that such video-game players are inclined to good graphics, there is no statement that the graphic condition is a decisive factor that influences the game purchasers. Diverse game players have various preferences for different games and some of them are more likely to buy such games with good storylines, attractive game characters, and simple interfaces than those games with lifelike graphics. While I cannot deny that impressive visual effects are one of the factors that attract gamers, it is hard to say that the graphic quality is the only point that video gamers are concerned with.

In addition, although we assume that the gamers investigated by the survey would truly be inclined to the games produced by Whirlwind because of their graphics, they may not acknowledge the presence of such games easily. According to the article, Whirlwind has targeted the specific age-group composed of individuals from ten to twenty-five years old. There is no evidence that this age group represents the gamers who were questioned in the aforementioned survey. While the author is confirmed that the age-group targeted by Whirlwind has purchasing power, it cannot be said that this age group is specifically attracted by the games with high-quality graphics. Besides, although some of them are influenced by that aspect, most of the teenagers and early twenties cannot spend a lot of money on buying games as they are not economically independent or lacking enough spare money. Furthermore, it should be also noted that it cannot be affirmed that these youngsters have the newest computers that are needed to play the games with great graphics. Thus, it can be stated that the real effect of the advertising campaign of Whirlwind is quite doubtful.

Furthermore, it is also suspicious if the dramatic increase in the sales of Whirlwind games would happen. While the writer says that only a few months are needed to prove this expectation, this argument is not convincing based on several factors. Certainly, the aforementioned points already betrayed that the actual sales may not be as high as the author predicts, the period of a few months itself is also problematic. Although the firm has succeeded in producing proper games and targeting appropriate purchasers, the real boom is not always accompanied right after the release. This point is not mentioned in the article

In conclusion, as previously mentioned, the article has to be based on more specific data and evidence to make the main idea cogent. It is also not confirmed that this editorial can reach potential buyers.