The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

“Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora’s citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora’s citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has no made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year’s unusually low expenditures on fitness-related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does.”

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The argument presented in the health magazine stated some reasons for the current health levels of the citizens of Corpora. But the assumptions on which the argument is based on are not conclusive.

Firstly, the magazine assumed that the standard for fitness was constant over time. Though there may be some similarities between the standard of today and that of twenty years ago, it is possible that most of the fitness requirements will differ. So, a person who can be attested physically fit with the standard of twenty years ago might not be deemed fit with the standard of current time. The article doesn’t show what were the standards of fitness were then and now.

Secondly, the magazine suggested that there is no relation between increasing computer usage and fitness decrease. It is possible that the richer people of the country are owners of computers, and because of being rich, they can spend more money in a healthy diet, or physical exercise on their own. In this way, the decline in fitness for using computers can be covered up. The argument would beget more moment if the overall computer user and health data were published with the article.

Also, another assumption by the magazine is health is related solely to economy. Though it is true to some extent, economy is not the only contributor to the fitness of a person. It is true that having much money can enable a person to take a more healthy meal. But it doesn’t refrain him from eating unhealthy foods. Whether a person eats healthy or unhealthy food is his choice. Also, low expenditures on fitness related products and services can account little for the fitness problem as there can be mass awareness programs advocating the usefulness of being fit. It doesn’t cost much money. Also, the citizen can be encouraged to workout at home with light instruments or take up exercises that doesn’t need expensive instruments to perform, like walking, running etc. The magazine didn’t count that in its arguments.

Though the importanse the magazine puts on being fit is sound. But the assumptions it took are provisional and can be dismissed, thus putting the validity of the arguments of the article into question.