The following appeared in a health newsletter A ten year nationwide study of the effectiveness of wearing a helmet while bicycling indicates that ten years ago approximately 35 percent of all bicyclists reported wearing helmets whereas today that numbe

As stated by a health newsletter, according to a nationwide survey, the number of bicyclists wearing helmets have increased over a period of 10 years which is obviously a safety measure. But the increase in number of accidents over the time do not endorse the measures taken. It instead suggests that the number of accidents have almost tripled and hence, the government should the government should concentrate more on educating people about bicycle safety and less on encouraging or requiring bicyclists to wear helmets. The conclusion to the statement sounds quite reasonable. But the evidence to back it up is flawed in its way.

First, a sufficient time span has been taken into consideration. It is no secret that over the years, the population of any area increases. And it would be safe to assume that the sum aggregate of all the bicyclists must have increased. Hence, this would directly affect the number of accidents related to bicycle riders. As the population increases, the total number of accidents may have increased. One may argue that it does not really justify the 200 percent surge in number of accidents. The helmets must have done their job of protecting the rider and hence, it is a possibility that the numbers would have been worse if the increase in use of helmets would have not taken place.

Talking about the burgeoning population, it is safe to say that the elements causing bicycle related accidents have also increased. Due to urbanization and flourishing global economy, the number of vehicles on the road have certainly increased. A few other accident-causing elements like narrower bicycle lanes, faster vehicles etc. contribute to the fact that the number of accidents would increase. Hence, the upsurge in number of cases is seen.

Furthermore, the survey fails to acknowledge the percent of riders who unfortunately met with an accident were wearing a helmet. The data suggests that 20 percent of people do not wear a helmet. It may be a possibility that these 20 percent contribute to a considerable number of accidents due to their recklessness.

The evidences and assumptions leading to the conclusion are exploitable. But the conclusion sounds quite progressive. Certain efforts should be made by the government so that a reduction in bicycle-related accidents may be seen. It is a high possibility that many of the bicycle riders are children. Hence a lesson on road safety will encourage them to ride safely abiding by all the rules resulting into lesser amount of bicycle related accidents.