The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involv

The author of the letter hopes to decrease the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians by limiting the number of moped rentals. Although the author’s suggestions are based on seemingly reasonable supports, with closer examination, however, we can find that the authors reasoning is rife with holes and flaws. The author failed to consider several other possibilities when forming his or her assumption, and some additional questions must be addressed before we can prove the author’s suggestion workable.

First, by stating that limiting the number of rentals of mopeds during the summer season can reduce the number of accidents, the author assumes the majority of accidents is caused by people renting mopeds in the summer season. This assumption, however, was not discussed in the letter and remains questionable whether it is true or not. It is possible that the majority of accidents are caused by the people who have their own moped, is which case limiting number of rental may do little effect on decreasing accident numbers. It is also possible in most cases of the accident the responsibility belongs to the pedestrian, if this proves to be the case, the town council should put effort on educating pedestrians to behave safely rather than restricting moped usages. Another plausible case is that more accidents happen in winter rather than summer season, which would make restricting rental on only summer seaon ridiculous. The author did not mention any information about these possibilities, and to justify his or her suggestion, the author should address the questions with sufficient supportive data.

Second, the author assumes that since similar limits on moped rentals had efficiently lowered the moped accidents on the neighboring island of Seaville, limiting moped rentals should also work on Balmer Island. This statement fails to consider the difference between island of Seaville and Balmer Island, though. It is not clear whether these two island’s moped accidents can be attributed to the same cause; the ratio of rentals between these two islands are not provided, whether island of Seaville had implemented other strategies to reduce accidents concommitant with limiting rentals are not considered, and the author merely stated that island of Seaville enforced similar limits but said nothing about how similar or dissimilar their limits are between the limits the author suggests. By ignoring these questions, the author provided insufficient evidence to prove his or her suggestion workable.

To sum up, although taking the suggestion of the author and limiting the number of moped rentals is possible to help to reduce the number of accidents, the actual effects remain questionable since the author did not take into account every possible factors that may cause his or her suggestion invalid. Until the above questions are provided with reasonable explanations, the usefulness of the author’s suggestion will remain doubtful. In order to make the suggestion more persuasive, the author should provide evidence to support that the several assumptions made in the argument are in fact, true.