The following appeared in a letter to the editor of the Balmer Island Gazette."The population on Balmer Island doubles during the summer months. During the summer, then, the town council of Balmer Island should decrease the maximum number of moped rentals

The letter to the town council of Balmer Island suggest a solution to reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians. The suggestion to this problem include limiting the number of rentals from 50 to 25 per day during the summer since the population during the summer tends to increase. This argument is flawed for making assumptions on the island and why there are many moped accidents in the first place.

First, the letter states that by reducing by half the number of mopeds rented will reduce the number of accidents. This is flawed because just because there is less mopeds, does not mean there will be less accidents. Maybe the reason why there is more moped accidents during the summer is because there is more people. Perhaps people visiting the island are not cautious when they walk across streets and therefore causes accidents. Another reason could be that people visiting the island are not familiar or don’t normally drive mopeds, which may cause more accidents on the island.

The argument also states that by eliminating half of the mopeds available for rental will result in 50% decrease in accidents. Again, because there is less bikes, we can’t conclude there will be less accidents. Perhaps if we had a number or average of accidents per mopeds we can have a better estimate. If we knew that each moped on average had about 2 accidents per day, we can conclude that the number of accidents will decrease by half if we limit half of the mopeds for rent.

Furthermore, it is argued that in Seaville island they reduced the number of accidents by reducing the number of moped rentals by half. Although this may had worked for Seaville Island, it does not mean it will work for Balmer Island. There is not enough information on how each island is different or similar to conclude the same results. Also, we don’t know if Seaville island did anything else beside reducing the number of moped rentals to reduce the number of accidents. Maybe Seaville island had more requirements for renting mopeds or informed the drivers more on how to use them to prevent accidents.

In conclusion, there is not enough evidence to assume limiting the number of moped rentals will result in less number of accidents. Several assumptions are made to predict a result that will not likely happen. We don’t have enough information to back up the argument and what worked for one place might or might not work in another place.