The following appeared in a letter to the editor of a Batavia newspaper:

The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure both lower prices and an adequate supply of milk for consumers."

The editor of a Batavia newspaper recommended that in order to prevent farmers making excess profit, the Government should regulate the retail milk prices. In making this recommendation the report relies on the increase in number of dairy farms over the ten years period and the milk prices at the local Excello Food market that has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon during the last 10 years. The recommendation has not been corroborated by statistical data, that's why the recommendation made by the editor is not convincing and relevant and the government should not intervene in the milk market.

First of all, the price of milk has been determined in the market based on the demand and supply of that product. Over the 10 years period, the number of dairy farms has been increased and the demand of milk also increased. In order to meet the increased demand the number of dairy farms should definitely increased, otherwise the price of milk would go beyond the purchasing power of common people. The report also said that the price of milk at local Excello market has been increased from $1.50 to $3.00, it only mentioned the price at a certain location/area, it might not reflect the price at the whole country. It might happen that the price in other parts of the country might not increased like Excello market. The government should not regulate the milk market based on the incomplete information.

Secondly, the report only mentioned the price of one commodity that is the price of milk. It does not have any information about overall price changes in Batavia. It might happen the overall price level in the economy has increased, and then the cost of producing milk has also increased. So, for reflecting the overall price changes and making profit, the price level of milk should also increase, otherwise the farmers will incur loss. So without any specific information about overall price level in Batavia, we are not certain whether the dairy farms are making any excessive profit or not.

Thirdly, the report does not consider the opportunity cost in making dairy farms. We have limited resources and we have to meet up our unlimited want with these limited resources. It might be true that the dairy farmers have sacrificed the production of other agriculture goods for producing milk. The farmers have to produce grass for feeding the cows by sacrificing the production of agriculture foods. If the government regulate the retail price of milk without depth analysis and based on incomplete information, it might negatively affect the demand and supply of milk. Due to government intervention, the farmers might shift from dairy farms to another sector, which will result, into decline of supply of milk and it leads to appreciation of milk price.

In conclusion, the recommendation of the daily newspaper for government intervention in retail price of milk is not well supported by statistical point of view. Without analyzing the effect of government intervention on milk production and on its prices, the government should not implement such recommendation which might affect the supply and demand of milk negatively. Before implementing the writers recommendation, I would like to have more information and statistical analysis regarding the supply and demand of milk at Batavia.