The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The Central Plaza store owner claims that the decrease in business in Central plaza is a direct manifestation of the increase in number of skateboard users in the plaza. However, the argument that he makes to corroborate this claim has several loose-ends.

Firstly, a comparison is drawn between the increase in the number of skateboard users in the plaza and the decrease in the number of shoppers. While his first statement is that the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically, it is unclear if this "dramatic" increase is with respect to the plaza or the city as a whole. Only by c...

*** The full content of this essay is available to VIP readers

Subscribe as testbig VIP readers and get unlimited access to essays on the top list.