The following appeared as a letter to the editor from a Central Plaza store owner.

"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The recommendation states that the city prohibit skateboarding in central plaza due to the decrease of patron and increase in vandalism and littering. The plaza and business owners are making assumption about the cause of the disruption of client flow and are likely presenting their argument with negative bias towards the skateboarders. before the city makes a choice on this issue, it must ask and answer the following questions.

Firstly, is there a direct correlation between the skateboarding and the decrease of shoppers at central plaza? this question would help the city evaluate the recommendation because it gives empirically backed insight to the reality of central plaza. As stated in the introduction, central plaza and its tenants can have negative stigma towards skateboarders, therefore assuming that they are cause for the plaza’s demise. there is the possibility that skateboarders buy goods from the plaza; if that is the case, then prohibiting skateboarding will decrease sales and patronage even more than prior. Now, if the plaza has conducted a significant number of interviews with non-skateboarding patrons who have confirmed that they are not going to central plaza due to the increase in skateboarding, the case to prohibit skateboarding in the plaza becomes stronger.

Secondly, the city must ask the plaza if the skateboarders are the cause of littering and vandalism, or if there are other culprits. By asking this, the bias of the plaza and tenants is at question once more. it might be the case that the skateboarders are littering and vandalizing the property. if there is video proof or witnesses that confirm littering and vandalizing caused by skateboarders, then the plaza has a stronger case for their recommendation. However, there might be other groups of individuals or policies that can affect the rate of littering and vandalism. For example, if non-skateboarding young people are littering and vandalizing, then prohibiting skateboarding will probably do nothing. Also, if the budget for the police department is cut significantly, then petty crimes such the ones at hand might increase due to lower policing.

Overall, central plaza’s recommendation has the best interest of its tenant and patrons. Although it is logical that they want the prohibiting of skateboarding on their property empirically based question pertaining biases and stigmas must be addressed before the city makes a decision.