The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. Clearly, modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits further."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The argument concludes that restricting the maximum flow to one-third of what it used to be will save water and money. By application of this method for the remaining buildings will results in increase of further profit as stated by the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex. However, before concluding this the author has to answer the following questions as below.

Firstly, there is no actual readings of water usuage before and after the adjustment were made. So, we cannot conclude that the use of water before and after has some declining graph. The assumptions are made on the basis of judgement which can or cannot be true. So, the author need to provide exact readings of the water usage before making any furthur changes or application of it.

Secondly, according to the author, complaints about the changes made in water pressure of the showerheads were very few. Also no problems with the showers have been reported since the adjustment. But, where each and every shower of the building been checked after the adjustments? Did every complex houses were reviewed for the change made and were they positive or negative? Clearly there is no evidence to conclude that restricting the flow of showerheads to one-third as compared to previous has changed the water comsumption. Also, water is not only used for showers but also for many other household activities like washing clothes, utensils and many more.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now, is considerably flawed due to reliance on several unwarranted asssumptions. If the author is able to answer the above questions and is ready to provide a systematic or actual details then it will be possible to evaluate the conclusion. Later, the evaluated data can be used for further applications.