The following appeared in a letter from the owner of the Sunnyside Towers apartment complex to its manager.

"One month ago, all the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex were modified to restrict maximum water flow to one-third of what it used to be. Although actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available, the change will obviously result in a considerable savings for Sunnyside Corporation, since the corporation must pay for water each month. Except for a few complaints about low water pressure, no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment. I predict that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnyside Towers complex will increase our profits even more dramatically."

In this letter the owner of the Sunnyside Towers concludes that modifying showerheads to restrict water flow throughout all twelve buildings in the Sunnydies Towers complex would increase their profits more dramatically. To justify this conclusion, the author points out that no problems with showers have been reported since the adjustment of the showerheads in the first three buildings of the Sunnyside Towers complex except for a few complaints. The evidence lends no support to the conclusion, and it is therefore not convincing.

To begin with, the author rests on the assumption that the change will reduce the usage of water, and thereby resulting in a considerable savings for the company. The author provides no evidence to support this assumption.Lacking of such evidence, it is entirely possible that the actual usage of water has significantly increased, especially considering that actual readings of water usage before and after the adjustment are not yet available.In light of this, it provides scant evidence to the conclusion that the usage of water has decreased due to its restriction on the showerheas' water flow .

Next, the author further assumes that the adjustment of showerheaders' water flow has not caused other problems except a few of complaints. While the adjustment has only passed one months, the author fails to take consideration into some possibilities in the future. Perhaps the residents try to adjust the showerheads by themselves which will damage the showerheads; Perhaps the residents keep the water flowing during the day in which the water will be likely flow into their room or other residents' rooms. In light of this, the author can not make me convince that the adjustment does not cause other problems unless more time are observed.

Furthermore, even if the adjustment in the first three building has bought less usage water and does not exhibit any problems except of complaints, it does not indicate that it will save water and cause problems.The author provides no information about it.Perhaps the residents in the other buildings do not satisfy the slow water flow. Thus, I can not believe that expanding the adjustment the other buildings will not cause problems.

Moreover, the author rests on the assumption that the adjustment will be profitable. The author overlooks the possibility that most residents will move out when they are not satisfied the adjustment.Under such circumstance, the company will struggle to attract the customers,let alone be profitable.

In conclusion, the author rests on unsubstantiated assumption , and it is unpersuasive. To make me convince the assumption that the adjustment will save water, I need to know the actual readings of the water usage. Further, to support the conclusion, the author needs to provide information to demonstrate that few residents will move out due to the adjustment.