The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the memo from the director of student housing at buckingham college, the director recommends to build a number of new dormitories to cope up with the growing enrollment at buckingham. He supports his claim providing evidence of rising avarage rent of an apartment in the town and the difficulty to afford off-campus housing. however, before adopting such a measure, these three specific evidences must be needed to evaluate the argument.

First of all, it is important to provide evidence for the growing enrollment over the next 50 years. current trend may be faulty. it is possible that current trend can't ensure the growing rate to be existent for the 50 years. it is possible that enrollment at the college may fall in the upcoming days. may be the enrollment can keep constant with no increase. it is necessary to provide evidence for the cosistency of the growing rate over the next 50 years. The argument fails to take account for this case and thus is weak.

Secondly, the argument states the evidence of rising average apartment rate in the town to provide support for building new dormitories. however, this might not be the case. may be the apartment rent in the town drstically fall in the next 50 years. it will provide an opportunity to the students to rent an apaverage artment off-campus. this evidence must be considered critically. evidence must be provided to support for the rising apartment rent in the

upcoming 50 years. otherwise, the argument will be very weak.

Finally, the argument fails to address the case of affluence of the students. may be the students are from wealthy families. So, economical restrictions will be of very little value to them. they can easily cope up with the increased rent of the apartment in the off-campus region. they can afford the apartments easily and in that case there will be no need for the new dormatories. evidence must show that the students who enroll in the college come from lower class families and they are not in position to deal with the increased apartment rate in the town. otherwise , the recommendation will be invalid.

In conclusion, the argument is flawed as it does not consider the possibility of three cases. evidence of the stated three cases must be provided before taking the recommendation for implementation. otherwise, the purpose of the recommendation will never be fullfilled and building new dormitories will be nothing but waste of resources and effort.