The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

The director of student hosing at Buckingham College in a memo points out that Buckingham College should build a large number of new dormitories in order to serve the housing need of their students. To virify such a agurment, the author offers some reasons, which may seem tenable at first glance. With unwarranted assumptions and poor evidences, this argument fails to be wholley compelling as it stands.

To start with, a main peoblem in the author's point of view is that the author simply assume the Buckingham's enrollment will double over the next 50 years by the current trends. Since, the author does not provide any strong evidence to support this assumption, it is not unreaonable to question the author's agrument. If the author can provide evidence to refute some possible situations such as there will be another good college open in this area and more students would like to this new college ranther than the Buckingham College or the overall birth rate in this area will decrease in the next 50 years and then the number of students who need go to college will decrease as well. Then the validity of the author's conclusion will be significant strengthened.

Additionally, the author claims that students will find it's difficult to afford off-campus housing since the average rent of an apartment in their town has risen in recent year. There is no evidence to support such a causal relationship. If we can find evidence showing that the overall salary of students' parentes will also increase as the rent of apartment increse, therefore, these students can still afford the off-campus housing. Given this circumstance, the author's point of view will be untenable.

Finally, the author thinks that through building more new dormitories, students will more likely to enroll at Buckingham College. For this point, if there are some evidence shows that students are more care about the ability of teachers in this college when they consider about choosing college and dormitories are not an important factors in their consideration. For this situation, the author can't hold his/her point.

To sum up, there are, as I have presented before, a lot of obvious flaws that need to be addressed for lacking tenable evidence and sound reasoning. Otherwise, any impetus implementation of the auhor's conclusion might be backfire.