The following appeared in a memo from the Mayor of the city of Hillview:

“In order to alleviate the serious unemployment problem in our town, we should encourage Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in our area. The Hillview landfill, which has been undeveloped for decades, is a perfect site for this plant. The building and staffing of this plant will put to work thousands of Hillview residents left unemployed after Computech computer software programming company abandoned its national facility last year. I am asking the City Council to authorize a large campaign to attract the company and offer significant tax incentives to make our town attractive to this giant of car manufacturing.”

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The memo provided by the Mayor of the city of Hillview states that to lessen the unemployment rate in the town they should encourage a company named Autotech to build its automobile manufacturing plant in the landfill which is undeveloped since a period of time. Hereby, this would bring in jobs for many of the residents of town who were left unemployed after a computer software company,Computech abandoned them last year. The Mayor's request seems feasible at first but it lacks serious evidences and is dependent on assumptions that the building of a firm will help employ the resident of Hillview. If provided with the below mentioned two evidences then the Mayor can state his assertion more firmly.

Firstly, the Mayor states that the building of an automobile manufacturing plant will give work to the unemployed residents of town. But what if the automobile plant is fully automated and require only a handful of employees? If this happens so then the Mayor's suggestion is fully vain and would cause the town tremendous loss as even after giving a great mass of land from the town for building the manufacturing plant, the residents would not have any benefits from it. Therefore, the Mayor needs to clarify or provide evidences as to does the automobile company have any prerequistives and have they provided any number of employees they would require as many companies state the labour index for their firm.

Secondly, the memo points that the residents are umemployed because a computer software company abandoned its facility a year ago. The computer based company requires greatly skilled labor for its efficient performing as the software programming is highly arduous work and requires great brainpower. Is it that the employees at the computer firm were indolent and less skilled? If so then this would have seriously lead to the abandonement of the company. So,it would be better if the Mayor must have given proper evidences as to why the company abandoned its facility and whether was it because of the residents or were there any other reasons.

Lastly, the memo by the Mayor is ill-founded and based on many assumptions. The memo can be strongly supported if provided with the aforementioned evidences as by providing the evidences of how many job vacancies would be created if the manufacturing plant is constructed and also why was the computer software programming company shut down. If the Mayor successful can provide these evidences then his request to city council for attracting the car manufacturing will be totally feasible and have great influence on the unemployment rate.