The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulties in obtaining reliable supplies of high quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. This coat should sell very well: since we have not offered an alpaca overcoat for five years and since our major competitor no longer makes an alpaca overcoat, there will be pent-up customer demand. Also, since the price of most types of clothing has increased in each of the past five years, customers should be willing to pay significantly higher prices for alpaca overcoats than they did five years ago, and our company profits will increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The notion of pursuing sales in alpaca overcoat after securing a new fabric supplier seems promising and logical at first. The Sartorian previously can not produce the alpaca overcoat due to the difficulties of procuring the raw materials in a reliable manner. Upon close examinations, however, the vice president does not provide adequate information about the supplier to the purpose of restarting the production of the alpaca overcoat. Moreover, the author does not conduct any market prospect analysis before making the assumptions, so the statement of the vice president on this matter is incomplete and it needs to be closely reexamined.

The current demand of the alpaca overcoat might change overtime, for it has been five years since the last time the company produced the product. The vice president informs that the major competitor is no longer manufacturing this product. We can understand why the vice president is highly motivated with this condition, yet this superficial data can mislead the company and it will be unproductive if they restart the production of the alpaca overcoat. The vice president must first evaluate the reason on why the major competitor does not produce the product any longer. Perhaps, the demand of this product has been declining so much that the production cost of the product is much higher than the possible selling price of the product. Even if there is still a significant number of people that buy the product, the company must first analyzes whether the sale of the product with the recent demand combined with the actual production cost can result in a profitable and promising sales. Another possibilty is there might be another small company, which is much smaller in size compared to the major competitor, that is specialized in producing the alpaca overcoat and they already hold the majority of the sales of this product. When the Sartorian can not beat this small company, or they can not create the reliable marketing to the customers, the Sartorian will face hardship in selling the alpaca overcoat. Therefore, the vice president must carefully decide on the basis of current demand of the product and other small competitors that can be an obstacle for the company, and they must construct an apt plan in selling and promotion if the product is still deemed as profitable based on the correct analysis.

The vice president mentions that the price of most of types of clothing is increasing, and the price of the alpaca overcoat should be set on the same level of price. This strategy is possible if the product is indeed desirable and the level of sales in the market commensurates the other types of clothing mentioned. According to the discussion from the previous paragraph, the company must analyze first the actual demand of the product before setting the right amount of price on the product. If the demand is lower compared to other types of clothing, then the company must sell the product also in a lower price. The company won’t sell much of the products if the price is far too high than the actual worth of the product in the market. Furthermore, the competition of sales also must be put into the consideration. If the Sartorian wants to reenter the market of this product, yet there are other companies that hold the majority of the sales, then it is imperative for the company to set a lower price compared to those companies so the customers are willing to purchase the product. The price level must be on the correct level, and the vice president must first pinpoint the exact condition on the market and the competitors within the sales of the same product.

The last thing that need to be considered is the fabrics provided by the new supplier. The vice president does not mention the actual competency of the new supplier and the materials that they can provide to the company. The reason of the change in supplier is that the previous one was unreliable, so the vice president must make sure that the new one does not do the same mistakes. Additionally, the company must settle the information of the materials that are needed for the alpaca overcoat production, and the new supplier must have the adequate supplies of those materials. The company has done a pretty good job in preparing the plan to reintroduce the alpaca overcoat, yet they bneed first make sure the condition of the market, the price, and their suppliers.