The following appeared in a memo from the new vice president of Sartorian, a company that manufactures men's clothing.

"Five years ago, at a time when we had difficulty obtaining reliable supplies of high-quality wool fabric, we discontinued production of our popular alpaca overcoat. Now that we have a new fabric supplier, we should resume production. Given the outcry from our customers when we discontinued this product and the fact that none of our competitors offers a comparable product, we can expect pent-up consumer demand for our alpaca coats. This demand and the overall increase in clothing prices will make Sartorian's alpaca overcoats more profitable than ever before."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In the argument, the author concludes by recommending Sartorian to resume production of the once popular overcoat with the reason that a new fabric supplier has emerged. While this conclusion may hold water, it rests on three unwarranted assumptions that must addressed before the recommendation can be made.

Firstly, the author argues that the outcry faced five years ago when the alpaca overcoat was discontinued still holds value today. Moreover, he assumes that demand of the coat from five years ago will still remain today. Over the years we have seen that fashion evolves rather quickly and what is fashionable today may not be fashionable tommorow. Furthermore, the author argues that the product faces no competition today; a possible explanation could be that the overcoat is no longer fashionable and thus has low demand and as a consequence there is low production from other companies. Hence, the author must provide evidence of demand existing today in a capacity that is similar or higher than the past.

Secondly, the author argues that the new fabric supplier will be able to meet the demand of the overcoat, however he fails to mention the quality and sustainability of production of the new supplier. It is possible that the old fabric supplier provided higher quality wool which is why there was a big market for the overcoats produced. Also, the author assumes that new supplier will be able to provide the quantity of wool that is required to sustainably maintain the production of alpaca overcoats .The author must provide evidence that the supplier will be able to supply high quality wool in high quantity for significant period of time. If this is not the case then, it is possible that there would be less demand or the past could be repeated and the production of the alpaca overcoats could be hampered.

Thirdly, Over the years, we have also seen that products such as coats and jackets made from animal skins have been strongly discouraged by the government by adding heavy taxes. This could imply that the cost of production of the wool will be higher than previously. In additon, the author also mentions that there is an overall increase in clothing prices, this however, does not translate to consumer demand. Moreover, it is possible that production costs have gone high and are the main reason for increase in prices and can not be attributed to demand. An implication of this would be that the demand for alpaca overcoats would be significantly lower than from five years ago when the product would have been cheap and accessible. The author must provide clear evidence that the demand for alpaca coats would still exist if the prices were increased.

Finally, as it stands the author's argument is weak and the aforementioned concerns must be addressed before the company can take a decision.